Everything You Need to Know About Car Insurance in Utah
So whether you’re driving for the first time or if you’re worried about your teen hitting the highway here are some guidelines to follow regarding the rules of the road and auto insurance in Utah:
Number one. It is illegal to drive in the Utah without minimum liability insurance.
Car insurance is one of those things you purchase and hope you never have to use. However, with the right coverage, it can protect you from a huge losses and financial problems.
Drivers are required to carry proof of insurance and produce this proof if requested by a law enforcement officer. The minimum amount of liability insurance allowed by State law is $25,000 Bodily Injury per Person, $50,000 Bodily Injury for 2 or more Persons and $15,000 Damage to the property of others. So speak to your agent about minimum liability insurance. In South Jordan the average cost of auto insurance is $1,059 per year. This makes car insurance in Utah the 40th most expensive auto insurance nationally. Here are some discounts you should look for: multiple vehicles, driver education courses, good student, safety devices, anti-theft devices, low mileage, good driver/renewal, auto/home package and dividends. Not all carriers offer all discounts, so check with your agent to see if you qualify. If you’d like to speak with one of our auto insurance experts, please visit our Contact Us page.
You should also consider taking a defensive driving course as your insurance may offer a discount. To find a course in your area please visit the Utah Safety Council for more information.
Number two. Avoid accumulating points; follow the rules of the road.
New drivers in this technological age need to learn how to drive without the extra distractions of incoming text messages, buzzing phones, or incoming calls. A driver, under 21 years of age who accumulates 70 or more points in three years, may be suspended or denied for 1 month to a year, depending upon severity of the record. Pro tip: Avoid getting points on your record which can increase your premium rate. Points are assessed to the driving record for some of the following violations such as texting while driving, speeding and following too close. To avoid distracted driving you should download one of the Apps to Fight Distracted Driving. It doesn’t matter which you download; a safe driving app will assist with driving without distraction. Use your phone as a safety tool and keep yourself accident-free.
To find out more about points assessed visit Utah Department of Public Safety.
Number three. Pay your insurance premium on time.
If you fail to pay your premium, you will have a lapse in your insurance. There is no such thing as a “grace period” for insurance premiums. You have either paid it on time or you have not. Driving without insurance in the state of Utah is illegal so avoid missing a payment so you don’t get your license suspended.